Luke Griffiths and Stine Jacobsen win the Bombay Gymkhana International Racketlon Open

Two contrasting final matches saw Luke Griffiths and Stine Jacobsen claim another IWT title this season. Badminton, squash and tennis were streamed throughout the day on our Youtube page, and you can watch the matches back here.

Luke defeats Leon in another epic battle

It was another Griffiths final and another one that did not disappoint. Leon got off to a good start, taking table tennis 21-12, but Luke got back strongly, taking both badminton and squash 21-17. Luke then took an early lead in squash, 11-6, never letting his lead slip taking squash 21-14. Luke went on to win tennis 21-11 and his second IWT title this season. The overall score was +12 (12-21 21-17 21-14 21-11).

Koen Hageraats beat Kresten Hougaard for the bronze medal. He got off to a good start, taking table tennis and badminton 21-13 21-12, before taking a close squash game 21-19. He then only needed three more points in tennis, taking the match +21 (21-1 21-12 21-19 3-1).

Men’s draw

Jacobsen claims fifth title this season

Stine Jacobsen has continued her good form all throughout the season, which she’s ended with another title and a 5/5 success rate out of every IWT tournament she has played this season. In the last group match she defeated Anna-Klara Ahlmer +24 (21-10 21-3 16-21). Amke Fischer beat Stephanie Chung +29 (21-19 21-13 21-2) and secured the silver medal. Ahlmer took home the bronze as she beat Chung yesterday.

Women’s draw

B and C titles for Chaufla, Fernandes, and Sheth

India’s Chaufla defeated Graham King in the final, taking the match +23 (20-22 21-4 21-13) taking the gold medal in the men’s B. Frank Kleiber won the bronze medal after Guidi Weijel unfortunately had to retire. Johann Fernandes won all her group matches and is the women’s B winner. Divecha won silver and Sood took the bronze. Sheth took home the men’s C title, after beating Chowdhary in the final. The score was +21 (21-4 21-13 11-21 6-0). Patel took the bronze, beating Doshi +24 (21-17 21-10 21-12).

Men’s B | Women’s B | Men’s C

Senior titles for Koubaa, Rakshit, Varinder, and King

Moammed Tarik Koubaa has added another +40 title to his collection, beating Baranwal +34 (21-4 21-17 21-8) in the final. Prasad beat Akberali +27 (21-16 21-14 21-12 11-5) in the 3/4 playoff. Rakshit won the +45 title, beating Kumar +23 (21-14 21-15 21-11) in the final. Chandiok beat Nikhil in the bronze medal match, taking it +5 (21-9 14-21 10-21 21-10). Varinder won the senior +55 title beating Satyendra +22 (21-12 21-9 1-0). Chandrashekhar took the bronze medal after Frank Kleiber unfortunately had to withdraw. Graham King won the senior +60 title, beating Kotak +4 (21-17 14-21 21-4 8-18) in the final. Goenka took home the bronze medal +13 (3-21 21-6 21-8 11-8).

Senior +40 | Senior +45 | Senior +55 | Senior +60

We now get ready for the last tournament of the 2023 season at Club La Santa in two weeks. But first of all a big thank you to the Indian Racketlon federation and the Bombay Gymkhana club for hosting such a great tournament. Some facebook photo’s can be found here.

Share this post:

Our Instagram

Our Facebook